Posted by: Grumpy | November 10, 2008

Add-on: Mik Scrolling Battle Text

Brain Freeze Proc Shown by MSBT

Brain Freeze Proc Shown by MSBT

Kadomi of Tank Like a Girl, mentioned it in Episode 55 of Epic Dolls as being good for Warriors. I’ve also heard that it’s good for Mages in that it tells you when certain things proc so you can take advantage of it.

So I downloaded it and, after a quick run through Terrokar Forest killing spiders, I can report a little about it. 

Roswynn is a deep frost mage so she has a talent called Brain Freeze. When it procs I get a no mana cost, instant-cast, Fireball. The problem is that I never notice when Brain Freeze procs, so I miss the spell opportunity. Enter Mik Scrolling Battle Text. Which, with its default settings, gives you a nice big scrolling text alert when Brain Freeze procs.

The add-on replaces the in-game scrolling combat text system and it works really well. I was slaughtering those spiders. On the surface I love the it. But I need to take a deeper look before I form a more firm opinion. For instance I’d like to be able to attach a sound to the alert when it procs and I’m not sure if I can do that or not yet.

EDIT: You can and it’s quite easy to go in and edit the properties of each trigger. This goes into my must have add-ons list.

Mik Scrolling Battle Text at Curse.com

Responses

  1. Yes, you can add custom sounds for triggers. Just edit the Brain Freeze trigger, have a wav file handy, win!

    I used to use Scrolling Combat Text for years, but Mik’s really has it beat. I love it.

  2. Thanks Kadomi, I’ll try that.

  3. Thats Nice how you guys can say oh yea just add some sound…. how do you add custom sound to your mik. how do you upload it and make sure it has the right link to it so that you have a good sound.


Leave a Reply

Categories

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

