Posted by: Grumpy | October 30, 2011

PTR 4.3: Raid Finder First Impressions

Yesterday I tried the raid finder for the first time and sat there for 20 minutes watching people join the queue and then leave. Every time someone does that you have to click the button accepting the queue again. I’m hoping that Blizzard changes that so that you only have to click it once.

Finally we got an entire 25 man group together and everyone clicked yes and we were teleported into the raid instance, at least I thought I was being teleported. When the loading screen disappeared I found myself standing in Orgrimmar right where I was before, only now I had a 30 minute long deserter debuff.

Nice!

Yor'sahj the Unsleeping

Today I tried it again, went through the same click the button to accept hassle, but this time I actually made it to the instance. I found myself staring at Yor’sahj the Unsleeping, the third boss in the Dragon Soul raid. I’ve heard some pretty terrible things about this boss and since I came in right after a wipe I was a little nervous about trying him as my first encounter. But we cleared the trash and that went really well. We had a really good player for a raid leader who took the time to explain the fight and call out targets. We downed him on my first attempt.

I even won my Tier 13 legs (Raid Finder version, iLevel 384)

So there are a lot of bugs still in the system. Something needs to be done about people leaving because it takes a lot of time getting people to replace them, and having to wait for 25 people to accept things takes forever. Once Blizzard works out those kinks this will be a really good addition to the game.

Responses

  1. Getting 5 people to accept in the dungeon finder is bad enough.


Leave a Reply

Categories

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

