Posted by: Grumpy | August 14, 2008

Priest Goggles: A Comparison

With the changes to spell mechanics in the Wrath beta I thought I’d take a look at each of the gear items that I’m carrying and re-evaluate each of my gear sets.  I currently keep a DPS set and a Healing set.  Since +spell damage and +healing have been rolled up into +Spellpower Im noticing that not all of my DPS items are best for DPS and vice-a-versa.  So first, being an engineer, I’ll look at goggles.

DPS and Healing Goggles for Priests

DPS and Healing Goggles for Priests

Without gems an enchants the Destruction Holo-gogs give you:

174 Armor
+22 Stamina
+24 Intellect
+29 Critical Strike
+64 Spellpower
Meta Gem Socket
Blue Gem Socket (Usually overridden)
Socket Bonus +5 Spellpower

The Powerheal 4000 Lens gives you:

174 Armor
+14 Stamina
+38 Intellect
+28 Spirit
+54 Spellpower
Meta Gem Socket
Blue Gem Socket
Socket Bonus +5 Spellpower

Green stats are the same between the two, red is significantly better, black is lower or insignificant. Since your +healing output is supposed to be around 1.88 times your spellpower1 (as of the current build. This may change) the DPS goggles are actually better for +healing, especially when gemmed with a red “dps” gem overriding the blue socket.

However, spirit loving priests may still like the Powerheal 4000 for it’s +spirit, and since I am one of those spirit loving priests, no changes to Outfitter yet.2


1. A Dwarf Priest yesterday.
2. Provided they don’t change the Spirit based mana regeneration system.
Categories

