Posted by: Grumpy | November 7, 2011

PTR 4.3: Gathering Grisly Trophies for the Darkmoon Faire

Darkmoon Faire

Yesterday I reported that I only got 5 Grisly Trophies when running an instance and that if the drop rate was that low it was going to take a really long time to complete the “Test Your Strength” quest from the Darkmoon Faire.

Now with another day of testing under my belt it seems that you’ll definitely be able to complete the quest in one week’s time. Especially if you’re grinding out daily quests. The quest says that you’ll have a chance of getting a trophy when you kill mobs that will give you XP or rep. “Kill” being the key word here. It’s been reported that in order to get the trophy you have to land the killing blow on the target. In an instance that can be very difficult, especially if you’re a healer.

However, I went and did Molten Front Dailies today and bagged 41 more trophies. Since I was soloing I landed the killing blow on all of the mobs. And my trophy count was much higher.

So it seems to me that grinding out daily quests by yourself is perhaps a better way to gather trophies. Molten Front was good. I’m guessing that the Therazane and Dragonmaw dailies would also be good.

Now it looks like completing this quest within the one week time period is completely doable. Just make sure that you pick up the field guide and the quest at the beginning of the week so you have more time to finish it.

Grisly Trophy

Categories

